APRIL 21, 2009


( Oral French Contest - Founded by Michel Monnot at Carleton College and  sponsored annually by the MN-AATF

Minnesota Chapter,  American Association of Teachers of French )


Winning T-shirt design

 Impossible N'est Pas Francais


University of Minnesota - T.C. east bank campus

Coffman Union



9:00 am - 1:30 pm


Registration                    8:30-9:00 in Mississippi Lounge

Judges Meeting              8:15-9:00 in room 333

Performances                 9:00-1:00 in various locations




            Room                          Description/Category

            301                              Prose & Poetry (Cat. 2, 6 & 7)

            302                              Prose & Poetry (Cat. 3 & 4)

            303A                           Prose & Poetry (Cat. 1, 5 & 8)

Pres. (332)                  Theater (Cat. 9 & 10)

            Theater on 1st             Theater (Cat. 11)

Board  (307)               Song (Cat. 14 & 17)

            Miss. (321)                 Song (Cat. 15, 18 & some 16)

            323                              Song (Cat. 13 & some 16)

303C                           Reading (Cat. 20)

305                              Reading (Cat. 19 & 21)

303B                           Conversation (Cat. 22)

            304                              prep. room for categories 19-22

            319                              award packet prep. room

            324                              quiet rehearsal room

            325                              equipment/prop storage room

            326                              viewing of DVD entries

            333                              judges' room (meeting and breaks)

            Miss. Lounge              morn.  registration/t-shirt pick-up



Photos courtesy of Traci Nelson












Participating Schools


Academy of Holy Angels

Benilde-St. Margaretıs

The Blake School

Breck School

Central High School

Como Park Senior High

Cooper High School

Harding High School

Highland Park Junior & Senior High Schools

Hopkins High School

International School of Minnesota

Lake Country School

Lakeville North High School

Lakeville South High School

Minnehaha Academy

Northfield High School

Perpich Center for the Arts High School

Rochester Public High Schools

St. Paul Academy & Summit School

Stillwater Area High School


The Awards

4 stars = excellent  (blue)

3 stars = tres bien   (red)

2 stars = bien    (white)

1 star = assez bien



There were 738 student entries

  224 blue medals

 359 red medals

   139 white medals

were awarded.








The AVLP 2009 Committee


Clare Hagen

(overall coordinator, scheduling & awards)

Betsy Kerr

(judges & on-site)

Anne Muske

 (theme & t-shirts)




(l.) Traci R. Nelson, photographer

 (r.)  Clare Hagen, Contest Coordinator






The Judges


Benjamin Al-Hadad

Laura Sbarra Anderson

Hanah Berhane

Lydia Belateche

Walter Blue

Christina Bouzouina

Marina Calas

Anca Coleman

Pat Deckas-Becerra

Eugene Edie

Courtney Faragher

Isabelle Fauchere

Shirley Flittie

Nelly T. Hewett

Mimi Jennings

Holly Kuisle

Christine Lac

Sandrine Micheyl

Vaara Ostrin

Jane Simon

Chichi Steiner

Anna Tahinci

Frederique Toft

Annette Thunnissen

Rick Treece

Peter Vantine

Trina Whitaker

Mary Lou Wolsey







Special thanks to:


Minnesota A.A.T.F.  Lydia Belateche, Chapter president


U of M Department of French and Italian (financial support)


Minnesota State University, Mankato

 Department of Modern Languages (monetary donation)


Lakeville South French students

Alex Burniece, Megan Lavallee,  and Sarah Rosenthal

(logo design)


Traci Nelson (photography)


Brett Schneider, Amanda Marthaler, Heather Hopkins, Periham MacDonald, Gabe Rurimnishiga, Jesse Loude, An Phan & Chien Lee

(St. Paul Central High School French students who served as award preparers)



Grand Merci to Clare Hagen, contest coordinator par excellence!




text  edited and reformatted for mnaatf.org  24 avril & revised 3 May, 2009