AATF-Minnesota - Le Grand Concours

National French Contest Awards Brunch


May 14, 2008


Coffman Memorial Union

University of Minnesota - Twin Cities


* * * * * *





400e Anniversaire





* * * * * *


2008 Le Grand Concours

 Minnesota Participating Schools


Apple Valley High School

Benilde-St. Margaret's High School

Blake Middle School

Breck School

Centennial High School

St. Paul Central High School

Duluth Central High School

Century High School, Rochester

Como Park Senior High School

Coon Rapids High School

Cooper High School, Robbinsdale

Denfield High School, Duluth

Duluth East High School

Edina High School

Harding High School

Highland Park High School

International School of Minnesota

John Marshall High Schoo, Rochester

Lake Country School

Marshall School, Duluth

Minnehaha Academy

Minnetonka High School

Mounds Park Academy

Northfield High School

Richfield High School

St. Paul Academy - Summit School

St. Thomas Academy

Visitation School

Wayzata High School



* * * * *



GC Awards Brunch 

Cooper High school table groups





* * * * * *




- Laurie Chilcote, Karen Johnson, Traci Nelson for their help with the Distribution des Prix


- Professors Betsy Kerr and Daniel Brewer (Department of French and Italian, U of MN TC )


- Lydia Belateche, President of Minnesota Chapter, AATF


- MaryEllen Weller, Minnesota GC Administrator (2004-2008)




* * * * * *


Prizes Awarded at tbe Brunch



National Winners received the Certificat Laureat National

Minnesota Winners received the Certificat d'Honneur (bleu)

Scores above the 50th percentile  received the Certificat de Reussite




1st Place National Winners : received a Gold Medal and a personal plaque

2nd and 3rd Place National Winners:  received a Silver Medal

4th  - 10th Place National Winners:  received a Bronze Medal


The National AATF is sending prizes for ranks 1-10 in Levels 01-5

and for FLES National winners in ranks 1-10



Names of all Minnesota State winners were included in the Grand Prize Drawings


The winner of a special prize of a Langenscheidt Standard French Dictionary

was announced at the ceremony.





Minnesota AATF Grand Concours



AATF-Minnesota congratulates

all  the winners of our Minnesota GC Grand Prizes

over the past five years !


* * * * * *




 Visitation School  Sixth Graders


[ Upper right corner:  Chapter President, Lydia Belateche and GC Mn Coordiator, MaryEllen Weller ]




Two Visitation Winners  showing certificates




Bravo to Kathy LaHouze and her Cooper High School  French students

and Merci for sending photos





Medal and Certificate winner from Visitation School



Grand merci to Ilse Norris

 Visitation School, Mendota Heights,  MN

for sending photos


Visitation School Group




* * * * *



Colin Kellogg & Kathy LaHouze, her teacher

Robbinsdale, Cooper High School


2007 4A and 2008 5A National Grand Concours Winner,

Colin was awarded the very first Rotary Academic Prize (2 weeks immersion study in Paris)

from the International Programs of the International Rotary/Alliance Francaise


[ Info: http://www.alliance-us.org/en  ]

Tuesday, May 6, 2008



* * * * *






See: http://mnaatf.org/GCMN.html




http://mnaatf.org/A27.htm                                     created  June 2, 2008